Great Lakes News

Great Lakes News

MBIA Announces Board of Directors and Award Winners


The Michigan Boating Industries Association, the official state-wide marine industry association, ended 2015 with a bang at its annual Recreational Boating Educational Conference in Lansing, Michigan this December.

The association announced six recipients of MBIA’s 2015 Lighthouse Award, created to recognize individuals for their contributions to the boating industry. This year's winners include: Jim Coburn, Tom Den Herder, Chris Lisowicz, Jim Steward, Tim Tadsen and Elizabeth LaPorte.

Also honored was Bill Blakemore, of Walstrom Marine, who was inducted into the MBIA Hall of Fame. Blakemore was with Walstrom Marine for more than 50 years and renowned for his technical ability and eye for perfection. He started working at Walstrom in 1966 after leaving the U.S. Navy, and is now retired.

The association also took care of business at the conference, and announced appointments for the 2016 Board of Directors. New members to the board include Jim Adams of Freeway Sports Center in Fenton, elected as a State-wide director; Warren Wolf, of Wolf’s Marine in Benton Harbor, elected as the Southwest regional director; and Torre Miller, of Diesel Fuel Doctor in Grand Ledge, elected as associate director. Each board member will hold three-year terms. Many other officers were re-appointed, and handful of others are continuing in their terms.

For more information, visit